OUR COMPANY HISTORY

Profile of company founder Johann Pomberger

The musical Johann

Our company history began in March of 1937, when Johann Pomberger was born in Stambach, Bad Goisern. He visited the local elementary and middle school for 4 years each. In November of 1952 Johann Pomberger began an apprenticeship as an iron turner at the “OPTOS – Optische Erzeugung GmbH”, in the nearby town called Bad Ischl.
He finished his training on November 10th of 1955. Through this education, he gained insight into the world of optics at quite a young age. Johann worked as a turner until February of 1958 at the “Ignaz Huber Landmaschinenhandel und Reparatur-Werkstätte”. Afterwards, he decided to follow his fathers footsteps and proceeded to start working at the Österreichischen Bundesbahn (Austrian Federal Railways).

The musical Johann

Eleonore and Johann

On June 6th of 1959, Johann married his beloved Eleonore. Together they had 5 children: Hans Peter, Gerhard, Elisabeth, Michaela and Daniel Pomberger. The family continued to live in Bad Goisern. Besides family, this time also brought professionally change, since Johann started working at “OPTOS GmbH” again, the same company where he had completed his apprenticeship. In the years 1978 and -79 he completed an additional education as industrial foreman, with a special focus on mechanical engineering. Before he left the “OPTOS” company, he was working as factory manager – an important role, which should prepare him for his future.

Eleonore and Johann

1984

Johann started his own business in the trade of “manufacturing and processing of optical frames”. In the beginning, the company was located in Bad Ischl, but shortly after moved to the known address at the Hallstättersee (Lake Hallstatt) – Au 131, 4822 Bad Goisern.

At the beginning, the company mainly manufactured acetate frames for the Austrian regional medical insurance company – models like “F3” and “Sylt” would be produced millions of times in the years to come.

1985

1996

As an engineer, Johann valued technical advancements and new innovations. This was shown especially through the investment in one of the first ten 5-axis-cnc-mills that were ever produced in Europe.

Still, he cared just as much about the beautiful Salzkammergut region and its people: Moving the company to another location or even another country was never an option.

To create enough work and to utilize the new production capacity, the “Johann von Goisern” brand was also created in this time period. The brand name combines the first name of the company founder “Johann” and its location “[Bad] Goisern“. Then and now, Johann von Goisern stands for unique design and exceptional quality.

5-Achsen CNC Maschine

1997

When Johann transfered the management to his oldest son Hans Peter in 1997, the family company already counted 22 employees.

Long after his retirement Johann lovingly cared about the wellbeing of the company and its employees. However, he respected Hans Peters fresh enthusiasm as well as his design skills.

2000

In order to fill the rising demand for display- and decorationmaterial, we invested in our own CO²-laser station. While mainly used for cutting acryl glass, we found many other uses for it over the years, e.g. cutting and engraving wood pieces.

Sei Personal Bravo 1220 Laser

2006

Our ever growing need for storage space was compensated with an expansion of the south side. This new building is lovingly nicknamed “The galery“, housing bigger and not as easy to store items like show furniture, etc.

2010

Since the founding of our company we have always split our production: On the one hand we designed and manufactured our own products, under the names “Pomberger Austria”, “Goi-Sun”, “Johann von Goisern”, etc., on the other hand we fulfilled manufacturing contracts for other, bigger and international frame- and design labels.

We realized eventually that we have to choose one of these paths. Otherwise it would have been impossible to specialize and grow our company further. After many years of careful planning, we finally made this decision in 2010: The answer was Johann von Goisern!

Although the switch to 100% self-designed products bears some risk to this day, our decision was soon rewarded with the international success of our collection.

2011

The success in Europe continued to grow. Beginning with 2011, DJ Optique, based in Nantes, took over the distribution of Johann von Goisern frames in France.

This partnership helped our brand to grow rapidly and laid the foundation for our successful export strategy.

2012

After more than 10 years of laser-ownership we upgraded: Our new Sei Personal Bravo 1520 CO²-laser station is mainly used to produce our own Johann von Goisern display- and decorationmaterial.

Additionally, we sometimes provide custom-made-products, especially for regular customers based in the region.

Not only the French were inspired by our extraordinary glasses: the BENELUX countries also dare to be different!

Eye Supply from Rotterdam, Netherlands has taken over the distribution of Johann von Goisern frames in Belgium, the Netherlands and Luxembourg since 2012.

2013

Better service doesn’t just come from nothing – to house our new office employees we expanded the shipping and service area to make room for our new Service Centre. Now our customer service finally had a home!

In the same year we also expanded our parking lot with carports and provided our company building with fresh paint.

Our main company building

2014

TRENDS & MORE was already a longtime partner when we expanded the partnership in 2014. For several years, we already have been distributing their products in Austria when TRENDS & MORE decided to do the same with our Johann von Goisern collection in Germany.

In the same year our export grew again with the help of a new distributor. Eurofun Oy, based in Helsinki, takes over the distribution of Johann von Goisern in Finland.

2015

With October 2015 “Hans Peter Pomberger e.U.” was transformed into “POMBERGER Goisern GmbH“. Now both Hans Peter Pomberger and his son Jürgen Pomberger function as CEOs.

This also meant that our family owned company now spans three generations, which brought new ideas and energy in the marketing and sales department, and benefitted our whole product range in Austria, as well as internationally.

2017

Having seen that there is a great amount of interest in our colorful frames in the United Kingdom as well, we visited the UK’s largest optics exhibition with the aim of finding a new distributor for this country.

Our visited was successful: In the same year the Kidderminster based company JS Optical started distributing Johann von Goisern frames in Wales, England and Scotland.

2018

In 2018 we joined another market with a lot of potential: Portugal.

With our own representative, based in Lisbon, we directly serve the country with the brands Johann von Goisern and bruno banani (TRENDS & MORE).

2019

After our previous Swiss distributor entered their well-deserved retirement, we were looking for a motivated successor.

We found what we were looking for with Deco Fashion: a company based in Wollerau, Switzerland takes over the distribution of Johann von Goisern in Switzerland and Liechtenstein.

Johann von Goisern doesn’t only love Europe! GDI Optical takes over the distribution of Johann von Goisern in several states in the USA, including Florida, New York and California.

In the same year we also got another non-European distributor, when GEM Optical took over the distribution of Johann von Goisern frames in Canada.

UNSERE FIRMENGESCHICHTE

Firmengründer Johann Pomberger im Porträt

Der musikalische Johann

Unsere Firmengeschichte begann im März 1937, als Johann Pomberger in Stambach, Bad Goisern geboren wurde. Er besuchte die dortige Volks- und Hauptschule jeweils 4 Jahre lang. Im November 1952 begann Johann Pomberger eine Lehre als Dreher bei der “OPTOS – Optische Erzeugung GesmbH” im nahe gelegenen Bad Ischl. Diese berufliche Ausbildung schloss er am 10. November 1955 mit einer erfolgreichen Facharbeiterprüfung ab. Somit bekam er bereits in jungen Jahren einen Einblick in die Welt der Optik.
Den Beruf des Drehers übte er bis zum Februar 1958 bei der “Ignaz Huber Landmaschinenhandel und Reparatur-Werkstätte” aus. Danach entschloss er sich, den Fußstapfen seines Vaters zu folgen und wie er bei der Österreichischen Bundesbahn zu arbeiten.

Der musikalische Johann

Eleonore und Johann

Am 6. Juni 1959 heiratet Johann seine liebe Eleonore. Gemeinsam bekamen sie 5 Kinder: Hans Peter, Gerhard, Elisabeth, Michaela und Daniel Pomberger. Die Familie lebte weiterhin in Bad Goisern. Neben familiären Veränderungen brachte diese Zeit auch beruflichen Umschwung, denn Johann stieg wieder in die “OPTOS GesmbH” ein, seinem ehemaligen Lehrbetrieb.
In den Jahren 1978 und -79 absolvierte er zusätzlich die 
Werkmeisterschule für Berufstätige, mit der Fachrichtung Maschinenbau. Zuletzt war er in der “OPTOS” als Betriebsleiter tätig, und sammelte so weiterhin wertvolle Erfahrung, die ihn auf die Zukunft vorbereiten sollte.

Eleonore und Johann

1984

Johann machte sich mit dem Gewerbe “Erzeugung und Bearbeitung von Brillenfassungen […]” selbstständig. Der Firmensitz lag anfangs in Bad Ischl, zog jedoch nach eineinhalb Jahren zur gewohnten Adresse am Hallstättersee – Au 131, 4822 Bad Goisern.

Zu Beginn wurden hauptsächlich Acetatbrillen für die Österreichischen Gebietskrankenkassen gefertigt – Modelle wie die “F3” und “Sylt” sollten später noch millionenfach produziert werden.

1985

1996

Als gelernter Maschinenbauer wusste Johann den Wert von technischem Fortschritt und fortlaufender Innovation sehr zu schätzen. Das zeigte sich vor allem durch die Investition in eine der ersten zehn 5-Achsen-CNC-Fräsen, die je in Europa produziert wurden.

Trotzdem lagen ihm die Region und seine Menschen gleicherweise am Herzen: An einen Umzug der Firma zu einem anderen Standort oder gar ins Ausland war nicht zu denken.

Um genügend Arbeit zu schaffen und die neuen Maschinen besser auslasten zu können, wurde in dieser Zeit auch die Marke “Johann von Goisern” ins Leben gerufen. Der Name setzt sich aus dem Vornamen des Firmengründers, “Johann” und den Standort des Unternehmens “[Bad] Goisern” zusammen. Damals wie heute steht Johann von Goisern für einzigartiges Design und herausragende Qualität.

5-Achsen CNC Maschine

1997

Als Johann die Leitung des Familienbetriebs 1997 – 13 Jahre nach der Firmengründung – an seinen ältesten Sohn Hans Peter übergab, war die Belegschaft bereits auf 22 Mitarbeiter gewachsen. Noch lange nach der Firmenübergabe an seinen Sohn kümmerte sich Johann sehr um das Wohlbefinden des Unternehmens und dessen Mitarbeiter. Trotzdem respektierte er den frischen Enthusiasmus von Hans Peter ebenso wie seine Fähigkeiten im Design.

2000

Um dem wachsenden Bedarf an Auslagen- und Deko-Material gerecht zu werden, investierten wir zur Jahrtausendwende in eine eigene CO²-Laseranlage. Neben dem Zuschnitt von Acrylglas konnten wir unseren Laser im Laufe der Jahre regelmäßig auch für weitere Zwecke einsetzen, z.B. das gravieren von Holzstücken.

Sei Personal Bravo 1220 Laser

2006

Da mehr Lager- und Stauraum vonnöten war, erweiterten wir unser Firmengebäude 2006 am Süd-Ende um die von uns liebevoll genannte “Galerie“. Bis heute dient sie uns als Zusatz-Lager für große und sperrige Gegenstände, wie z.B. Messemöbel.

2010

Seit der Firmengründung haben wir unsere Produktion immer geteilt: Zum einen wurden unsere eigenen Designs unter “Pomberger Austria”, “Goi-Sun”, “Johann von Goisern”, etc. produziert, zum anderen fertigten wir auf Auftrag für andere große, internationale Brillen- und Design-Labels.

Uns war bewusst, dass wir uns früher oder später für einen dieser Wege entscheiden mussten – andernfalls wäre es sehr schwierig gewesen sich zu spezialisieren und als Betrieb weiter zu wachsen. Diese wichtige Entscheidung trafen wir im Jahr 2010 nach langer und vorsichtiger Planung: Die Antwort war Johann von Goisern!

Obwohl die Umstellung auf ausschließlich Eigen-Ware bis heute einige Risiken mit sich trägt, wurde unsere Entscheidung bald durch den internationalen Erfolg unserer Kollektion bestätigt.

2011

Der Erfolg am europäischen Kontinent ließ nicht lange auf sich warten. Seit 2011 übernimmt DJ Optique die Distribution von Johann von Goisern Fassungen in Frankreich, mit Firmensitz in Nantes.

Diese Partnerschaft verhalf der Marke zu einem sprunghaften Wachstum und legte den Grundstein für einen erfolgreichen Export.

2012

Nach gut 10 Jahren Laser-Besitz entschieden wir uns für ein Upgrade: Die neue Sei Personal Bravo 1520 CO²-Laseranlage wird hauptsächlich durch unsere eigenen Präsentations- & Verkaufshilfen ausgelastet, die wir für Johann von Goisern produzieren.

Zusätzlich produzieren wir noch vereinzelt Sonderfertigungen, vor allem für Stammkunden in der Region.

Nicht nur die Franzosen ließen sich von unseren außergewöhnlichen Brillen begeistern: auch die BENELUX Länder wagen es, anders zu sein!

Seit 2012 übernimmt das Unternehmen Eye Supply aus Rotterdam, Niederlande die Distribution von Johann von Goisern Fassungen in Belgien, Niederlande und Luxemburg

2013

Besserer Service kommt nicht von ungefähr – um unsere neuen Büromitarbeiter zu beherbergen, erweiterten wir unseren Versand und schufen einen neuen Raum für unsere Servicezentrale. Ab jetzt hatten unsere Servicemitarbeiter endlich ein festes Zuhause!

In diesem Zuge erweiterten wir unseren Parkplatz um ein Carport und verliehen dem ganzen Firmengebäude einen neuen, farbenfrohen Anstrich.

Unser Firmengebäude

2014

Im Jahr 2014 weiteten wir unsere langjährige Partnerschaft mit TRENDS & MORE aus. Nachdem wir schon mehrere Jahre einige Kollektionen des Labels in Österreich vertrieben haben, entschloss sich das Unternehmen aus Passau, Deutschland unsere Johann von Goisern Fassungen in Deutschland zu distribuieren.

Im gleichen Jahr bekam unser Export gleich nochmal Zuwachs. Eurofun Oy übernimmt die Disitribution von Johann von Goisern in Finnland, mit Firmensitz in Helsinki.

2015

Mit Anfang Oktober 2015 wurde aus “Hans Peter Pomberger e.U.” die “POMBERGER Goisern GmbH“. Neben Hans Peter Pomberger funktionierte ab diesem Zeitpunkt auch sein Sohn Jürgen Pomberger als Geschäftsführer des Unternehmens.

Somit ging unser Familienbetrieb in die dritte Generation, und es kam wieder neuer Wind in die Außendarstellung und Vermarktung des Betriebs und unserer Produkte im In- und Ausland.

2017

Die steigende Beliebtheit unserer Brillen in Großbritannien blieb bei uns nicht unbemerkt. Mit der Absicht, einen guten Vertriebspartner für diese Region zu finden, stellten wir 2017 erstmals auf der größten britischen Optik-Fachmesse in London aus.

Unser Besuch wurde belohnt: Im gleichen Jahr startete JS Optical die Distribution von Johann von Goisern Fassungen in Wales, England und Schottland.

2018

Im Jahr 2018 erschlossen wir einen weiteren Markt mit viel Potential: Portugal.

Mit unserem eigenen Außendienst betreuen wir das Land ausgehend von Lissabon direkt mit den Marken Johann von Goisern und bruno banani (TRENDS & MORE).

2019

Nachdem unser bisheriger Schweizer Distributor den wohlverdienten Ruhestand antrat, waren wir auf der Suche nach einem motivierten Nachfolger.

Bei Deco Fashion wurden wir fündig: Das Unternehmen aus Wollerau, Schweiz übernimmt die Distribution von Johann von Goisern in der Schweiz und Liechtenstein.

Nicht nur Europa liebt Johann von Goisern! GDI Optical übernimmt die Distribution von Johann von Goisern in mehreren Bundesstaaten der USA, u.a. Florida, New York und Kalifornien.

Im selben Jahr übernimmt GEM Optical die Distribution von Johann von Goisern Fassungen in Kanada.

2020

Unser neuer japanischer Partner Murakami Trading Co.,Ltd übernimmt die Distribution unserer Johann von Goisern Brillen von Tokio aus.